As with all major tourist sites, the story of the Lascaux cave and its discovery is far from banal. It was purely by chance that on 8 September 1940 Marcel Ravidat, who had just turned 18, discovered the entrance to the cave. He returned a few days later with 3 friends and entered the now world-renowned Lascaux cave for the first time. Over the years the site, opened to the public in 1948, suffered damage caused by the number of tourists who came to admire it. This is why Lascaux II and then III were created, exact replicas produced using the same paints, techniques and pigments as in the original cave. In 2016, the International Centre for Cave Art, Lascaux IV, opened to the public, revealing the cave in its entirety for the first time and enabling visitors to immerse themselves completely in the Palaeolithic period: interactive films, virtual reality, 3D cinema... Discover the Lascaux cave as it was at its origin some 20,000 years ago, an invitation not to be refused!